You are here: Home / About / Faculty Advisory Board

Faculty Advisory Board

Michael Carter

Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Director, USDA BASIS CRSP

Kay Dewey

Distinguished Professor of Nutrition; Director, Program in International and Community Nutrition; and PI for the Gates Foundation Lipid-Based Nutrient Supplements (iLiNS) Project

Andrew Hargadon

Charles J. Soderquist Chair in Entrepreneurship; Professor of Technology Management; and Faculty Director, Child Family Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

James Hill

Specialist in Cooperative Extension, Department of Plant Sciences and Associate Dean, International Programs, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Amina Mama

Professor of Women and Gender Studies and Director, Women and Gender Studies

Jonna Mazet

Professor of Epidemiology and Disease Ecology; Director, One Health Institute and Wildlife Health Center; and Global Director, PREDICT Project of USAID Emerging Pandemic Threats Program

Elizabeth Mitcham

Specialist in Cooperative Extension, Department of Plant Sciences; Director, Postharvest Technology and Research Center; and Associate Director, USDA Horticulture CRSP

Mark Schwartz

Professor of Environmental Science and Policy; and Director, John Muir Institute of the Environment

Kate Scow

Professor of Land, Air and Water Resources; Associate Director, Agricultural Sustainability Institute; and Chair, International Agricultural Development Graduate Group

Daniel Sperling

Professor of Civil Engineering and of Environmental Science and Policy; Founding Director, Institute of Transportation Studies

Tom Tomich

Professor of Plant Sciences and of Human Ecology; and Director, Agricultural Sustainability Institute

Jean VanderGheynst

Professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering and Associate Dean, College of Engineering

Chris Van Kessel

Professor of Plant Sciences and Chair, Department of Plant Sciences

Michael Wilkes

Professor of Internal Medicine, UC Davis School of Medicine

Li Zhang

Professor of Anthropology and Chair, Department of Anthropology




Our Vision


With a focus on excellence, our mission is to engage UC Davis faculty and students in finding tangible, sustainable solutions to alleviating global poverty.

This multi-disciplinary, cross-campus initiative engages undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, researchers and local community partners abroad through education, applied research and outreach. Practical application is the guiding principal of the program.

In This Section

You'll find information about the UC Davis Blum center including staff and faculty advisory board